University of Ulm
Computer Science
Verteilte Systeme/Distributed Systems
Projects   |   Publications   |   Teaching   |   Persons Search   |   Intranet

Current Position
University of Ulm
Computer Science
Distributed Systems Lab
Projects
Aspectix
Project Description
EDAS

Additional Topics
 Project Description
 Team and Contact
 Publications
 Student Projects
 Funding
 Download
 
 
Project Description
Middleware Core
EDAS
AGC
Policy-Enabled Design

EDAS: Enviroment for
Distributed, Adaptive Services

[AspectIX]

The Environment for Distributed, Adaptive Services (EDAS) allows the usage of client-side resources in a controlled, secure fashion. It supports dynamic adaptation at run-time, provides a management infrastructure, and offers system-level support for scalability and fault tolerance.

The environment is directly built upon our AspectIX middleware infrastructure. It supports flexible service models, including a fully centralized client/server structure, completely peer-to-peer based systems, and various configurations "in between" that allow a controlled use of peer resources. The overall goal is to provide a generic service architecture that allows to implement the service functionality once, and then, ideally, run this service with different service models and also adapt it at run-time.

We support explicit management of available resources via a home service. Using this service, domain administrators can provide resources for services or service classes. For simplicity of administration, a set of nodes within one administrative domain is managed jointly. Furthermore, the home service is responsible for local resource monitoring (e.g., currently available memory, CPU resources, and network bandwidth) and notification about resource-specific events (e.g., addition or removal of resources, node shutdown).

The second key component is the service environment. Its task is to provide the environment where some service (or set of services) is actually run within. It manages the available execution locations, depending on resource offers of home services and trust specifications of the administrator of the service environment. It also reacts to notification from the home services, and suggests, e.g., that a service should be migrated to another available node in reaction to a shutdown notification. The service environment is also able to consider different trust levels for the service. For example, the core of a service (e.g., all of its primary data replicas) might be located at highly trusted nodes only, whereas some caching or secondary read-only replicas might be placed on other available nodes as well.


Related Publications

2004
Rüdiger Kapitza, Franz J. Hauck, Hans Reiser: Decentralized, Adaptive Services: The AspectIX Approach for a Flexible and Secure Grid Environment Proc. of the GSEM 2004 Conferences (GSEM, Erfurt, Germany, Nov., 2004); Springer, LNCS 3270, 2004.[PDF][Postscript]

See also: complete list of AspectIX-related publication

Languages
Deutsch
Copyright © 2007 Distributed Systems Lab · Uni Ulm Imprint

Universität Ulm
Fakultät Informatik
Verteilte Systeme/Distributed Systems
Projekte   |   Publikationen   |   Lehre   |   Personen Suche   |   Intranet

Aktuelle Position
Universität Ulm
Fakultät Informatik
Verteilte Systeme
Projekte
Aspectix
Projektbeschreibung
EDAS

Weitere Themen
 Projektbeschreibung
 Team und Kontakt
 Veröffentlichungen
 Studentenprojekte
 Förderung
 Download
 
 
Projektbeschreibung
Middleware-Kern
EDAS
AGC
Politikbasierter Entwurf

EDAS: Enviroment for
Distributed, Adaptive Services

[AspectIX]

Die Ablaufumgebung für verteilte, adaptive Dienste (EDAS) erlaubt die Verwendung von clientseitigen Resourcen auf eine kontrollierte und sichere Weise. Sie unterstützt eine dynamische Adaption zur Laufzeit, stellte eine Management-Infrastruktur bereit und bietet Systemmechanismen für Skalierbarkeit und Fehlertoleranz.

Die Ablaufumgebung baut auf unserer AspectIX Middleware- Infrastruktur auf. Sie unterstützt flexible Service-Modelle, einschliesslich einem klassischen, zentralisierten Client-/Server- Modell, einer komplett auf Peer-to-Peer-Netzen basiertenden Architektur, und verschiedene zwischen diesen Extrema liegenden Modellen, die eine kontrollierte Verwendung von clientseitigen Resourcen erlaubt. Es wird eine generische Dienstarchitektur angestrebt, die es erlaubt, eine Dienstfunktionalität einmal zu implementieren, und dann diesen Dienst mit verschiedenen Dienstmodellen auszuführen und auch zur Laufzeit dynamisch anzupassen.

EDAS unterstützt eine explizite Verwaltung von verfügbaren Resourcen über einen Behausungsdienst. Durch diesen Behausungsdienst können Domänenadministratoren Resourcen für Anwendungsdienste bereitstellen. Um die Administration zu vereinfachen, können beliebige Mengen von Knoten innerhalb einer administrativen Domäne gemeinsam verwaltet werden. Darüber hinaus ist der Behausungsdienst verantwortlich für eine lokele Resourcen- Überwachung (z.B. verfügbarer Hauptspeicher, CPU-Resourcen, Netzwerkkapazitäten) sowie für eine Benachrichtigung über resourcenbezogene Ereignisse (wie das Hinzufügen oder Entfernen von Resourcen oder das Herunterfahren eines Knotens).

Die zweite Kernkomponenten ist die Dienstumgebung Deren Aufgabe ist das Bereitstellen einer Umgebung, in der Dienste ausgeführt werden können. Sie verwaltet die verfügbaren Ausführungsorte, abhängig von Resource-Angeboten von Behausungsdiensten und Vertrauens-Politiken des Administrators der Dienstumgebung. Zudem reagiert die Dienstumgebung auf Benachrichtigungen vom Behausungsdienst, und schlägt z.B. vor, dass ein Dienst migriert werden soll als Reaktion auf die Ankündigung, dass ein Knoten heruntergefahren wird. Zudem lassen sich verschiedene Vertrauensstufen differenzieren. Zum Beispiel kann der Kern eines Dienst (alle primären Replikate) ausschliesslich auf vollständig vertrauenswürdigen Knoten beheimatet werden, während Cache-Knoten oder sekundäre nur-lese-Replikate auch auf anderen Knoten plaziert werden können.


Zugeordnete Veröffentlichungen

2004
Rüdiger Kapitza, Franz J. Hauck, Hans Reiser: Decentralized, Adaptive Services: The AspectIX Approach for a Flexible and Secure Grid Environment Proc. of the GSEM 2004 Conferences (GSEM, Erfurt, Germany, Nov., 2004); Springer, LNCS 3270, 2004.[PDF][Postscript]

Siehe auch: komplette Liste aller AspectIX-bezogenen Publikationen

Sprachen
English
Copyright © 2007 Verteilte Systeme · Uni Ulm Impressum